Day 9. Pocahontas (1995). Directed by Mike Gabriel & Eric Goldberg.

Pocahontas (1995) score: 58%

While I still think Pocahontas isn’t Disney’s finest hour, I’ve forced myself to realise that it isn’t as terrible as I first thought.

But I still wonder why the previous head of Disney Jeffrey Katzenberg thought it was a more likely hit than The Lion King. I generally love Disney’s rose-tinted view of the world, but Pocahontas is at best crude and at worst plain offensive (native Americans = superhuman conjurors?)

Furthermore, Pocahontas was only 12 when she met John Smith in reality… and I’m pretty sure he wouldn’t have been so chiseled, or sounded so much like a pre-controversy Mel Gibson.

One thought on “Day 9. Pocahontas (1995). Directed by Mike Gabriel & Eric Goldberg.

Leave a Reply

