Day 70. Traffic (2000). Directed by Steven Soderbergh

Traffic (2000) score: 69%

69% is generous of me, because Traffic bored me rigid and I’m not exactly Steven Soderbergh’s biggest fan. Just when I thought the end was near, I checked the runtime and there was still a good hour to go.

But I can acknowledge Traffic’s intriguing characters, particularly the Conservative judge’s high-achieving high school daughter who’s addicted to crack. It’s just such a shame that once again Soderbergh uses ridiculous and unnecessary filters that only serve to simplify the film’s message and detract from the great performances on show. Or perhaps these distracting filters are in place to paper over the cracks?

Leave a Reply

